Dylan Paul & Paggliacci Pizza (USA)

tumblr_inline_n8mo00Fr8l1ribta3

Dylan Paul is a man who identifies as a woman. He worked at Paggliacci Pizza greeting customers, taking and making salad orders, and bidding customers farewell. He sadi goodbye to a customer, who returned the gesture, allegedly, according to Paul “misgendering (him) as “man.” Paul described what happened next:

I corrected him, “It’s ma’am actaully.” He didn’t hear me clearly the first time, and asked me to repeat myself.

“Ma’am, I’m not a man.” He heard me clearly that time, and laughed at me before going about topping his pizza with the condiments we keep by the door. I had a few moments to say something, but I was too in shock to respond. On my way home I resolved to say something to him if I saw him in the restaurant again.

When the customer returned, Paul had further words with him.

“The last time you were in here I corrected you on my gender and you laughed at me. That was really rude, and I’d like you to apologize.”

He replied, “I don’t really care what’s happening in your life, man, I just need my pizza.”

I responded, “I just need to be respected in my place of work, and I reserve the right to refuse service to you.”

He asked me to have someone else serve him, and I stepped back and asked the kitchen, “Anyone else want to serve this guy?”

Subsequently, Paul was either fired or quit for being rude to a customer.  You can read more about this man here.

Paul seems to not be aware that Women are regularly called “man,” “guy,” or “dude,” as these words have all entered the vernacular as substitutions for “human.”

 

6 thoughts on “Dylan Paul & Paggliacci Pizza (USA)

  1. Oh my god. If I had a quarter every time a person called me “man” or “dude”, or referred to a group of women as “guys” (as in “Hey, guys!”) I would be a millionaire. He needs to understand that women are rarely called “Ma’am”. I mean, maybe if they’re older ladies or something… but not usually. I have been called “Ma’am” only once or twice this year and it felt weird each time. It seems so formal. I wish there was an informal way of addressing women that wasn’t cutesy or overly formal, or quaint, or insulting. I guess that’s why people default to “man” or “dude” because calling people “girls” or “ladies” seems kind of quaint and goofy. I consider myself pretty progressive, and I still occasionally address a group of female friends as “guys”. I have to stop myself and say “ladies”, which doesn’t feel as informal, but I want to make it a point to stop using male terms as default terms… even if they’re ingrained in the vernacular. I’d like to either hear about or create new words for informally addressing women that do not default to male terms. Just saying…

    Like

  2. “The last time you were in here I corrected you on my gender and you laughed at me. That was really rude, and I’d like you to apologize.”

    He replied, “I don’t really care what’s happening in your life, man, I just need my pizza.”

    I responded, “I just need to be respected in my place of work, and I reserve the right to refuse service to you.”

    He asked me to have someone else serve him, and I stepped back and asked the kitchen, “Anyone else want to serve this guy?”

    This indivdiual sure looks like a man to me, and why should customers be “corrected” and forced to apologize?

    “I corrected him, “It’s ma’am actaully.” He didn’t hear me clearly the first time, and asked me to repeat myself.”

    When ordering pizza, make sure to use the politically correct pronouns/correct terms, etc., or risk being corrected by the person at the counter with multiple piercings in his, I mean, her nose and ears.

    “Paul seems to not be aware that Women are regularly called “man,” “guy,” or “dude,” as these words have all entered the vernacular as substitutions for “human.”

    Sometimes a mixed group of males and females will be called, “those guys over there”, so I guess that is “mis-gendering” too.

    “these words have all entered the vernacular as substitutions for “human…”

    Good point….

    Like

Leave a Reply

